Tory Leadership and PM Candidates – ten go forward in the race

Share this story...Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook
Share on LinkedIn

Tory Leadership and PM Candidates.  There are ten.  Watch the names being read out.

The names of candidates to officially enter the Conservative leadership race were announced by Dame Cheryl Gillan.

They needed to have 8 backers to make it to the first stage of the race.

Jeremy Hunt, Dominic Raab, Matt Hancock and Michael Gove – who launched their campaigns ahead of the nomination deadline – are on the final list.

Conservative MPs will now take part in a series of votes to whittle the candidates down to the final two.

The two MPs will then face the wider Tory membership to decide on the next leader of their party, and the country.

Vice chairman of the party’s backbench 1922 committee Dame Cheryl Gillan announced the list.

Who would you choose to go through?  Do you . have a favourite?  Let us know.



  1. Boris Johnson Frontrunner Conservative Leadership Race | YNUKtvYNUKtv - June 12, 2019

    […] he has to come out in the open and reveal his plans for the Leadership and how he will handle Brexit. It is thought he will say: After three years and two missed […]

  2. Dominic Raab Loses in Tory Leadership Race - five proceed to next round | YNUKtvYNUKtv - June 18, 2019

    […] Raab has been knocked out of the Tory leadership race in the latest ballot of MPs, leaving five candidates in the battle to be the next […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.